Search for automotive help or look up your family lineage, we have a collection of helpful databases to search for the answers you need. Some sites require a library login or can only be accessed at your local library.
AP Newsroom*
View the greatest events in world history with photographs, audio sound bites, video, and graphics, for over 185 years. Over 3,000 photos/images/sound bites/graphics added daily, including audio and visual snapshots. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Biography & History | Newspapers, Magazines & Journals | Images | POWER Library
Auto Repair Source*
Discover the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Auto Repair | POWER Library
Black Freedom Struggle*
Primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history, and contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | POWER Library
Bookflix*
Watch videos and read books about Animals and Nature, Earth and Sky, People and Places, ABC’s and 1, 2, 3’s, Family and Community, Music and Rhyme, Adventure, and more. Enjoy read aloud with words highlighting and interactive games. Some films and books are available in Spanish too! POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
eBooks | Education | Children | POWER Library
Books & Authors*
Discover fiction and non-fiction books that match your interests! Books and Authors (powered by Gale's popular What Do I Read Next? series) is for readers from every level of reading proficiency and enables users to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics from more than 240,000 titles. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Book Search | Adults | Teens | POWER Library
Chat with a Librarian (formerly Ask Here PA)*
A free resource to all residents of Pennsylvania, offering live chat reference with a real librarian, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Speak with a real librarian for help on any topic or information need. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | POWER Library
Driving Tests - Pennsylvania
These practice tests are good for the Pennsylvania permit test, driver’s license test, and the senior citizens’ refresher test.
Education
Elementary*
Elementary students in kindergarten through grade five will find age-appropriate content covering a broad range of educational topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, etc. Content is continuously updated and provides interesting and important facts with connections to current and past events. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | Children | POWER Library
KidSpeak*
Learn words and phrases suitable for learners' age, needs, and interests with this kid-friendly portal of Transparent Language. More than 40 activities, puzzles, and songs guide young learners through the basics of six difference languages, along with a cartoon "friend" who speaks the language. Available languages include English, Spanish/Castilian, Italian, German, French, and Chinese/Mandarin (simplified).
The landing page for the KidSpeak languages will present a login screen to users. In order to track progress it is necessary for users to have an account. Users who do not want to track progress may select the 'Continue as a guest' option located beneath the login to proceed.
Language | Children | POWER Library
MyHeritage*
Browse billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources that span the past five centuries. Available content includes more than 19.4 billion historical records from all over the world, the U.S. federal census (1790-1950) with images, citizenship and naturalization records, and more. Accessible from within the library and from home.
Genealogy | History | Records | POWER Library
National Geographic Magazine Archive*
With comprehensive, timely articles and legendary photos, this award-winning magazine documents life on our planet and beyond. Browse through over one hundred years of history through articles on culture, global events, nature, science, technology, geography, the environment, as well as gripping first-person accounts of epic exploration and discovery.
History | Science | Education | Magazines | Images | POWER Library
NoveList Plus
Find reading recommendations based on styles, genres, and other book titles you already like. NoveList Plus helps to find your next great read based on filters such as unique story elements and read-alike (or listen-alike) recommendations. Your library card number will be required to access outside of the library.
Adults | Book Search | Children | Teens
PA Photos and Documents*
Explore millions of digitized photographs, documents, and newspapers from Pennsylvania's rich and varied history. The collections are provided by libraries and other organizations across the Commonwealth.
Documents | Education | History | Images | POWER Library
Pennsylvania Job Resources*
Discover job resources for Pennsylvania job seekers and employers. These Pennsylvania government provided resources are designed to help you find a good career, review job openings, and match you with employers. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Jobs & Job Seekers | Careers | Adults | POWER Library
POWER Kids*
This easy-to-use, graphically appealing search interface was designed especially for grades K - 8, helping these kids search on a broad range of subjects in a professionally selected collection of age-appropriate magazine & newspaper articles. Watch a video on how to get started with POWER Kids. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | Children | POWER Library
POWER Library*
POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. The new home of Access PA—borrow titles from libraries across Pennsylvania. Watch a video on how to get started with POWER Library.
Education | Adults | Teens | Children | POWER Library
POWER Teens*
Provides online resources including full-text research e-resources, collections of photographs and documents, the statewide catalog of materials held in libraries throughout Pennsylvania, and Chat with a Librarian. Watch a video on how to get started with POWER Teens. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | Teens | POWER Library
Reading Eagle Archives
Through Google’s Archives, you can view many scanned issues of the Reading Eagle from 1868 through 2008.
News & Articles | Local | History | Images
Scholastic Teachables
An online database of tens of thousands of searchable and printable educational materials. Created by teachers and precisely leveled, our high‑quality, ready-to‑use resources support parents preparing kids for kindergarten readiness, homeschool teachers and learners from Pre-K to grade 6, and young patrons who need extra skills practice.
Documents | Education
Small Engine Repair*
Find detailed repair guides for all types of small engines. Offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service) as well as extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type and model numbers. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Auto Repair | POWER Library
Time Magazine Digital Archive*
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Education | Magazines | Images | POWER Library
Transparent Language*
Begin learning a new language today. Whether you’re starting at the very beginning with a new alphabet or you’re an intermediate learner looking to enhance your vocabulary and grammar knowledge, Transparent Language Online can help. Available for learning 120+ languages, plus English (ESL) materials for native speakers of 30+ languages, the program has something for everyone.
Language | POWER Library
TrueFLIX*
Learn about people, places, nature, history, and science from videos and eBooks on topics such as American Indians, Ancient Civilizations, Farm to Table, The Civil War, Continents, The Thirteen Colonies, U.S. Government, Disasters, Earth Science, Experiments, Extreme Science, Nature, and many more. POWER Library E-Resource – Sponsored by Commonwealth Libraries.
Education | Children | POWER Library
Value Line
The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased investment research and data. It offers financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Also included are expert analysis, insightful commentaries, and a sophisticated performance ranks and ratings system.
Personal Finance & Investing | Adults
* denotes POWER Library resource.
This project is made possible in part by Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services and through the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Library Access funds administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Office of Commonwealth Libraries. The views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services or the Pennsylvania Department of Education.